Scottish Ploughing Championships 2020

The Executive Committee of the Scottish Ploughing Championships met virtually this afternoon (31/5/20).

It has been agreed that a decision will be made by 30th June about whether the Scottish Ploughing Championships will be going ahead in 2020, based on the government advice available at that time and taking into account the health and safety of all involved.

In the event that the Scottish Ploughing Championships is able to go ahead there will be no change to the 2019 Rules to make it easier to run this year in the short timescale available.

Young Ploughers Development Programme

Nominations due from affiliated societies by Friday 30th November (printed forms were posted to contacts for all affiliated societies on 20th September).

Young ploughers aged between 14 and 25 may be nominated for inclusion in the 2020 Junior Development Programme. Up to five Young Ploughers across Scotland will be selected by the Executive Committee to receive travel costs, up to a maximum of £250, to compete at the 2020 Scottish Ploughing Championships in Ayrshire. In addition, an experienced plougher in their area will be appointed as a mentor.

Nomination Form:  Junior Development Programme Application November 2019

Photograph courtesy of Issy Hutton.

2019 AGM – Information for members

AGM of Ploughing championships (Scotland) Ltd held on 10th March 2019

Summary Points for Members of the Scottish Ploughing Championships

    • Classic Class – 11″ width rule removed
    • Junior Classes – new format for 2020
    • Multi furrow class – maximum of 5 furrows
    • Plough Off Start Times – amended to 9.20 am.
  • Scottish Ploughing Championships – Members voted by a substantial majority to revert to Friday and Saturday for Scottish Ploughing Championships from 2020.
  • Prize Money – Unanimously agreed that NO prize money would be paid for any class.
  • Greeting Meeting – to be re-introduced.
  • World Board Member – Mrs Joyce Mitchell appointed.

Executive Committee and Office Bearers

  • Chairman:  Willie Grieve
  • Vice Chairman:  John Walker
  • Company Secretary:  Jane McDowall
  • Area 1 – Thurso to Inverness:  Gavin Robertson and James Tait.
  • Area 2 – Inverness to South Grampian:  Dave Carnegie and Raymond Middleton
  • Area 3 – Tayside, Fife and Stirling*:  Rab Birrell, Jamie Dick, Andrew Mitchell Snr and Gordon C Beattie.
  • Area 4 – Borders:  John Tait and Stuart Forsyth.
  • Area 5 – Ayrshire and Dumfries & Galloway:  Alistair Brown and Gordon Rae.
  • Bill Wood was co-opted on to the Executive Committee.

*         Two extra members from the area where the match is being held are appointed to the Executive Committee.

Committee Members  (members elected to assist with setting up, clearing up and at the match).

Brian Baxter, Morris Blacklaws, Ian Cruickshank, Hugh Currie, Archie Finlay, Andrew Gammie, Robbie Gauld, Billy Gordon, Andy Greenhill, Gordon Hepburn Jnr, Alec Keith, Derek MacIver, Iain MacRae, Richard MacWilliam, Grant McDonald, John McRobert, Mark Skea, Ian Whiteford and David Wood.